Once more at the threshold #photography

18 thoughts on “Once more at the threshold #photography

  1. I’m currently doing A-Level Photography and basing my idea around derelict buildings. I happened to come across your work and I am taking a great interest in it. I was just wondering if you could tell me where you have taken all these derelict style pictures, and the address in order for me to visit. Thank you!

    1. Hi Sophie, all of the locations are in Doncaster, South Yorkshire. However, not all are completely derelict buildings. The building which features most regularly on this blog is Church View, the former art college next to the minster. There are currently studio spaces available for rent which are open 11am until 2pm Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday and I’m there most Thursdays. But if you pop in there is usually somebody there you can talk to.

      1. Thank you ever so much for your help! So would I be able to ring up and book a slot in which I could take pictures of the building? Or would I have to rent it to take these pictures? Do you know of any other derelict or buildings like the one on your picture in which it has decayed or crumbled a little? Thank you again!

      2. It depends on whether you’d like to use the arts space for the summer. There are some really interesting artists there and it costs just £25 to have your own space 3 days a week for the next 3 months. Just drop in between 11am and 2pm any Tues, Weds or Thurs for more details.
        If you’d rather just take photos you can either contact the DCDT directly – http://www.doncastercdt.org/contact-us – or you can pop along one Thursday and I’ll give you the tour.
        Regarding sites, if you look around at the higher levels of shops. etc., in town you’ll notice that the top floors are often neglected. Provided they’re not busy people are often quite receptive to photographers.
        Actual derelicts are a different story as there are often legal and safety issues. The best starting point is the UrbEx community, with forums like 28 Days Later – http://www.28dayslater.co.uk/
        There are local exploreres like Dweeb who have documented a lot of local sites, one of the most impressive being the Grand…
        http://www.28dayslater.co.uk/forums/showthread.php/69041-Doncaster-Grand-Doncaster-01-12
        http://www.28dayslater.co.uk/forums/showthread.php/66941-Grand-Theatre-Doncaster-December-2011
        http://www.28dayslater.co.uk/forums/showthread.php/66779-Doncaster-Grand-Empire-Nov-2011

        Hope this helps, and hope to see you around 🙂

  2. I can’t make it this Thursday due to traveling arrangements, but if I came next Thursday would you be able to give me a tour and allow me to take pictures of the building? It most certainly did help, thank you very much!

  3. Hi Warren sorry about not replying to your message I’ve had no Internet connection for a while now and have only just managed to get it back! I was wondering if tomorrow is ok to meet up and you show me round? It would be a great help to my A2 photography course!!

Leave a Reply

